Cowboy Camping

Cowboy Camping

March 23, Day 5

Miles Traveled Today: 15.8

Total Miles Traveled: 68.4

Last night was the longest night on the trail so far. I love my Six Moons Lunar Solo tent!! I am amazed the tent and I was not blown away. I have never heard wind like that before. It sounded like an angry locomotive. It was alive and flying around us most of the night. The rain was heavy at times and it was still drizzling with low clouds in the morning. We loaded up our packs the best we could. We planned on drying out our tents along the way, and fortunately, the skies cleared.

I am so glad Jamie came out and brought us Jersey Mike’s subs – thank you Jamie!! It also provided us an opportunity to reconsider whether we should press on or not. The next 5 miles were very exposed and I’m so glad we decided to stay put.

The views, of course, were amazing, and we were able to dry our tents.

We made it to our next planned stop with plenty of daylight left. I even had time to do some laundry! Our three became four with the addition of Brian from the state of Washington. He talked us into cowboy camping, which is sleeping out under the stars!

There was the perfect spot on top of a concrete water tower. The night was clear and the breeze was light. What a difference a day makes!!

Thanks for the read and support 😁

7 thoughts on “Cowboy Camping

  1. Just want to let you know i’m not only following your journey, but looking forward to your daily log. I hope you truly enjoy this epic trip and its everything you hoped for. If you get a chance, I’d love to know what/how you packed? I’m just curious and figured it might help me when I pack for my motorcycle trips. Great job on the journal and I really like how your not sugar coating anything. Stay safe my friend and Semper Fi!

    Like

    1. Hi Tom!! Wow I’m so happy you’re coming along with me. Sorry I didn’t see your comment early, I’ve just discovered them! I’m getting back in the trail may 5. I think I’ve got your number, I’ll give you a ring tomorrow. Oh and the PCT has totally exceeded my expectations!!

      Like

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us. I love hearing about each leg and your pictures are breathtaking! So proud of you for taking this plunge 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment